Jane Eyre - Charlotte Brontë

Firstly published by


Smith, Elder & Co., London

The novel's setting is somewhere in the north of England, late in the reign of George III.
It goes through five distinct stages:
1. Jane's childhood at Gateshead Hall, where she is emotionally and physically abused by her aunt and cousins.
2. The education at Lowood School, where she gains friends and role models but suffers privations and oppression.
3. Her time as governess at Thornfield Hall, where she falls in love with her mysterious employer, Edward Fairfax Rochester.
4. The time in the Moor House, during which her earnest but cold ecclesiastic cousin, St. John Rivers, proposes to her.
5. Her reunion with her beloved Rochester, whom she ultimately marry.
Throughout these sections, the novel provides perspectives on several important social issues and ideas, many of which are critical of the status quo.

Grab your copy here: